Reverend Frank Chikane serves as one of the founding members of Kagiso Trust and is currently the Chairperson of Kagiso Trust.

    Rev. Chikane is the former Commissioner of the first Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) which was responsible for the first democratic elections in 1994; a former Director-General in the Office of the Deputy President and later the Presidency and Secretary of Cabinet. He is the Chairperson of the Kagiso Capital (KC) board and the board of City Power Johannesburg. He is currently a Senior Vice-President of the South African Council of Churches (SACC), a Member of the Board of Sci-Bono Discovery Centre and is part of the Kagiso Shanduka Trust (KST) Advisory Committee. Rev. Chikane is also a former Board Member of Thebe Investments and the Development Bank of Southern Africa.



    Chief Executive Officer

    Paballo previously served as a non-executive director of KTH since its inception in 2011 and chaired the Investment Committee. He joins KTH from Kagiso Capital where he was the Chief Operating Officer and has in excess of 12 years' experience at executive and board level. He currently serves as a director of FirstRand Limited. As a Chartered Accountant, he also holds an MComm South African and International Tax from the University of Johannesburg and did an International Executive Development Program with Columbia Business School



    Chief Financial Officer

    Tshepo has previously served as CFO of Kagiso Media and as an executive at Kagiso Trust Investments and Kagiso Tiso Holdings’ finance and investment divisions.

    Prior to joining Kagiso Tiso Holdings he worked for Eskom Treasury and PwC. He is currently chair of various group companies and a non-executive director on other boards including Kaya FM, Heart FM and Gagasi FM. He is a qualified CA(SA) with more than 15 years’ experience in finance.



    Non-executive director
    CA (SA), B Acc, B Acc (hons)


    Non-executive director

    Kholiwe has more than 23 years’ experience in both Public and Private Sectors. She has extensive experience in the various industries having worked as an Auditor, CFO, Consulting and Sales Director etc.

    She is currently VP and Country MD of Software AG SA and is a board member. Makhohliso, formerly the Country Managing Director of Oracle South Africa and prior to that she held various Senior Management roles at Accenture.

    A Harvard Alumni and a Bachelor of Accounting Science graduate, Kholiwe completed executive and leadership programs at leading institutions both locally and abroad. She completed Program for Leadership Development (PLD) at Harvard Business School, Global Executive Development Programme (GEDP) with Gordon’s Institute of Business Sciences (GIBS), South Africa and the 4sight Leadership Programme – a joint program with Cranfield Business School, UK and IESE Business School, Spain.

  • Andrew Maralack


    Non-executive director

    Mr. Andrew Phillip Maralack serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust.

    Mr. Maralack is the Chief Executive Officer and Founder of Sizwe Business Recoveries (Pty) Ltd. He is also the Chief Financial Officer and served as Executive Director at Evraz Highveld Steel & Vanadium Ltd.

    Mr. Maralack is a qualified Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in finance, auditing, business turnarounds, corporate recovery, consulting, retirement fund industry and corporate governance. He is a member of the Finance Committee of the Cape Town University of Technology and a former member of the Audit Committee.



    Non-executive director

    Dean Zwotaiho Nevhutalu serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust (KT) and has been involved with KT since 1986. He is a Pastor by profession and has spent a number of years working as the Superintendent General of the Limpopo Provincial Department of Education.

    Dean Nevhutalu has served as Chairperson at Kagiso Trust, the Independent Electoral Commission in Limpopo, the Institute of Contextual Theology and Educational Aid Programme, Transvaal branch.

    His involvement in community programmes includes being Chairperson of Ecumenical Confessing Fellowship and Educational Aid Programme. He was also involved in the monitoring of the DRC presidential elections. He is a member of the National Project Consolidate Advisory Working Group, chairperson of Kagiso Trust Consultancy and served on the boards of Transitional National Development Trust, CODESA, and Mulweli Counselling Centre.

  • Babalwa Ngonyama


    Non-executive director

    Babalwa is the Chief Executive Officer of Sinayo Securities, a board member of Aspen, Hollard Life, Hollard Insurance and Vukile Properties. She is also the audit committee chair of both Kagiso Tiso Holdings and Vukile Properties, and a lead independent director at Implats Ltd. Babalwa was previously an audit partner at Deloitte’s Financial Institutions, Safika Holdings Group CFO and Chief Internal Auditor at Nedbank Ltd. She is also the new Chairperson of the University of Cape Town Council.



    Non-executive director, independent

    B Bus Sci, MBA, B Com (Hons) in Business Data Processing

    Shams career included being an Investment analyst for Norwich Union Life Assurance (1973 – 1975) and AGM (Investments), Colonial Mutual Life (1975 – 1987). He was an executive director (Investments) of Southern Life Assoc. (1987 – 1996), and executive director of Real Africa Holdings of Real Africa Asset Management (chief executive 1996 – 2003). Shams currently serves as the non-executive chairman of Coronation Fund Managers Limited and the Centre for Proteomics and Genomics Research, and as a non-executive director of Oceana Group and Lungisa Holdings. He is a Trustee for the University of Cape Town (UCT) Foundation, Ukukhula Trust (UCT), Imvula Trust (Coronation) and a member of the Joint Investment Council at UCT.



    Non-executive director

    BSc Engineering, MBA

    Pieter, has been a member of the management board at Remgro since 1 April 2013 and served as chief executive officer of Vodacom Group, from 2008 to 2012. Pieter serves on various boards including DarkFibre Africa, Grindrod, Grindrod Bank, Seacom and Mediclinic International Limited.



    Non-executive director (Alternate)

    Mr. Mzomhle Nyenjana is the Chief Financial Officer at Kagiso Trust.

    Mr. Nyenjana is a qualified Chartered Accountant and completed his articles at PriceWaterHouseCoopers.

    He serves on the Board of Directors of the Johannesburg Housing Company (JHC) and the Brickfields Housing Company.